16.01.2024Bayer 04

Vote for Florian Wirtz in Sportschau’s Goal of the Year

ARD’s Sportschau has opened the voting for its 2023 Goal of the Year competition, with Bayer 04’s Florian Wirtz among the nominees. The playmaker was previously also one of the contenders for the Bundesliga’s Goal of the Year vote alongside teammate Alejandro Grimaldo. Fans have until Wednesday, 31 January to cast their votes for Wirtz’s opening goal against Freiburg.


Wirtz single-handedly dribbled his way through the Freiburg defence to open the scoring in Leverkusen’s 2-1 victory back in October. It earned the 20-year-old the Goal of the Month award by a considerable winning margin.

Alongside Wirtz, the nominees for the 2023 award are Joshua Kimmich (Bayern Munich), Marius Bülter, Tim Skarke (both Schalke), Jean-Luc Dompe (Hamburg), Timo Hübers (Köln), Radouane Chaanoune (Fortuna Düsseldorf/Amputee Bundesliga), Maximilian Putz (Vilzing), Jan-Niklas Beste (Heidenheim), Connor Metcalfe (St. Pauli), Charles Hermann (Germany U17s) and Goncalo Paciencia (Bochum).

Related News