11.11.2022Bayer 04

Gold for Wirtz, Gräwe und Fröhlich

A great honour for three young Leverkusen players: Werkself player Florian Wirtz plus Lisanne Gräwe and Clara Fröhlich from the Bayer 04 Women's teams have been awarded the gold Fritz Walter Medal by the German Football Association. That was announced by the DFB today (Wednesday). The award of the Fritz Walter Medal is the highest individual award in German youth football.

For Florian Wirtz, this year's Fritz Walter Medal in the U19 age group is the second gold following on from 2020 (U17). Simon Rolfes, Bayer 04 sporting managing director said: "It's an award Florian absolutely deserves. The sporting value attributed to him and the quality in him seen by the DFB is proven by the fact that this Fritz Walter Medal has been awarded to him where he was unable to play for eight months due to his torn cruciate."

Rolfes also spoke about the future of the 19-year-old playmaker Wirtz: "Florian has nearly got over this difficult time and he will come back stronger than before. I'm not alone in seeing him as one of the most important players in German football over the next ten years."

Wirtz, who has been at the Werkself since January 2020, is following in big footsteps as a winner of the Fritz Walter Medal: Benjamin Henrichs won gold in the U19 category in 2016 and he was followed in the same age group two years later by homegrown player Kai Havertz.

after 'Equal Play' Reform: gold for two Bayer 04 women 

The Fritz Walter Medal has also been awarded to young female players for the first time this year: That was decided by the DFB following their 'Equal play' reform. That means this year's award and those in future go both to the best male players as well as female players in the U17 and U19 age groups with gold, silver and bronze medals being awarded.

Two gold medals came straight to women's youth players at Leverkusen: Lisanne Gräwe won the award in the U19 age group and her Bayer 04 teammate Clara Fröhlich was the winner in the U17 category. "These awards are confirmation of the successful work with young talents at Bayer 04," said Thomas Eichin, head of the Youth & Women teams. "Giving young female players from our own ranks the chance to gain a foothold in the Bundesliga is a big part of our strategy relating to the development of women's football at Bayer 04."

medals also awarded to 2021 winners

A total of 24 players received the highest individual awards in German youth football this year. The background in comparison to previous years with higher numbers of winners now is the Equal Play principle being applied to the award of the Fritz Walter Medals in 2021 due to the coronavirus pandemic. The Leverkusen player Clara Fröhlich received the award for last year belatedly.

Financial support for amateur clubs

The German Football Association (DFB) has paid between €10,000 and €20,000 to amateur clubs who were involved in the development of the talents who won the Fritz Walter Medal.

Leverkusen winners of the Fritz Walter Medal :

2022: Florian Wirtz (U19/Gold), Lisanne Gräwe (U19 Women/Gold), Clara Fröhlich (U17 Women/Gold)

2020: Florian Wirtz (U17/Gold)

2018: Kai Havertz (U19/Gold)

2016: Benjamin Henrichs (U19/Gold); Kai Havertz (U17/Silver)

2015: Jonathan Tah (U19/Gold)

2014: Julian Brandt (U18/Gold); Levin Öztunali (U18/Silver)

2013: Dominik Kohr (U19/Bronze)

2012: Dominik Kohr (U18/Bronze)

2010: Kolja Pusch (U17/Bronze)

2008: Marcel Risse (U19/Bronze); Richard Sukuta-Pasu (U18/Bronze)

2007: Stefan Reinartz (U18/Bronze); Nils Teixeira (U17/Bronze)

Related News

Europa League - 29.11.2023

Alonso ahead of #BKHB04: ‘Play to win’ in snow and minus temperatures

The Werkself are looking to seal winning the group against Häcken on matchday five in the UEFA Europa League. Ahead of the game against the Swedish Cup winners on Thursday 30 November (kick-off: 21.00 CET), head coach Xabi Alonso talked about clear aims as well as the busy fixture list up to the winter break – and he recalled a special trip to Gothenburg, tomorrow's venue, as a teenager. Nathan Tella also fielded questions from the journalists on Wednesday night where he spoke about the importance of the Europa League to the club and himself.

Show more
Bayer 04 - 29.11.2023

Bayer 04 extend contract with top talent Francis Onyeka to 2027

Bayer 04 Leverkusen have given U17 player Francis Onyeka a long-term contact. The club has agreed a deal with the 16-year-old to 30 June 2027.

Show more
eSports - 29.11.2023

#Bayer04eSports: Four points on triple matchday

#B04eSports team suffered the first defeat of the season on matchday five in the VBL Club Championship 2023/24. Last night’s other games ended in a win and a draw. The Black and Reds are now fifth in the North West division.

Show more
Bayer 04 - 28.11.2023

Bayer 04 seal long-term deal with Simon Rolfes

Bayer 04 Leverkusen back continuity at the top of the club. The Bundesliga and Europa League participants have extended the contract with sporting managing director Simon Rolfes to 2028. The former midfielder and long-standing Werkself captain took over this position as the successor to Rudi Völler in the summer of 2022. He was previously the sporting director at Bayer 04 for three and a half years.

Show more
Bayer 04 - 28.11.2023

Florian Wirtz wins October Goal of the Month award

The fans have decided: The goal scored by Florian Wirtz to make it 1-0 for Bayer 04 Leverkusen in the 2-1 home win against SC Freiburg was voted Goal of the Month for October with 45 % of the votes cast. The 20-year-old Werkself player won the vote conducted by ARD-Sportschau by a clear margin ahead of second-placed Harry Kane (Bayern Munich).

Show more