10.10.2020Bayer 04

Internationals: Germany win in Ukraine – Wirtz sets U21 record

Germany secured their first win in the Nations League on Saturday night. The team under national coach Joachim Löw beat Ukraine 2-1 in Kiev. Werkself player Jonathan Tah did not feature.

Löw made ten changes to his starting eleven for the 3-3 draw in the friendly with Turkey on Wednesday. Five FC Bayern players started the game who did not play against Turkey in Cologne. Only Julian Draxler (Paris Saint-Germain) was again in the starting line-up.

Borussia Mönchengladbach’s Matthias Ginter gave Germany the lead on 20 minutes in front of 17,573 spectators in Kiev. The visitors took a 1-0 lead into half-time and they extended that advantage soon after the restart: Leon Goretzka of FC Bayern made it 2-0 (49’). Ruslan Malinovsky pulled a goal back for Ukraine from the penalty spot on 76 minutes but that was it for the team coached by former player Andrij Schevchenko.

Germany flew back home straight after the game. The international break concludes on Tuesday 13 October (kick-off: 20.45 CEST/live on ARD) with a Nations League game against Switzerland in Cologne.

Grill in goal for Germany

The Germany U21s easily won their Euro qualifier in Moldova on Friday night. The Werkself players Florian Wirtz and goalkeeper Lennart Grill, who kept a clean sheet in the 5-0 win, were in the starting line-up.

For youngster Wirtz, the appearance in Chisinau was his debut for the oldest Germany junior team. Worth noting: At the age of just 17 years and 159 days, the forward became the youngest-ever Germany U21 international. Born in Pulheim, he took over the record held by Julian Draxler who was 17 years and 323 days old when he made his debut in 2012. Wirtz was taken off 64 minutes into his debut.

With two wins on Tuesday 13 October (kick-off: 18.15 CEST/ live on ProSieben MAXX), against Bosnia-Herzegovina and in the final game on 17 November against Wales, nothing would stand in the way of Germany qualifying for the Euros:The Germany U21s are second in Group 9 with 12 points from six games, one point behind Belgium. The five best second-placed teams in the nine groups – like all the group winners – will qualify for the Euros. Germany are currently in fourth place with everything in their own hands.

Long lay-off for Arias

There was no good news from South America in the night from Friday to Saturday: Santiago Arias, who only joined Bayer 04 on loan from Atlético Madridin the summer, suffered a broken leg in a challenge 14 minutes into Colombia’s World Cup qualifier against Venezuela (3-0). In addition, the 28-year-old also had serious ligament injuries in his ankle. Arias will probably be sidelined for six months.

Due to the severity of the injury, an operation is required following the immediate treatment in Columbia. This will be performed by a specialist in Madrid by agreement with Bayer 04, Arias and Atlético. The 28-year-old Arias is expected to fly from Colombia to Spain in the middle of next week.

Players and outstanding fixtures:

Jonathan Tah (Germany):
Tuesday, 13 October (20.45 CEST/live on ARD): Germany v Switzerland (UEFA Nations League)

Aleksandar Dragovic and Julian Baumgartlinger (Austria):
Sunday, 11 October (20.45 CEST/live on DAZN): Northern Ireland v Austria (UEFA Nations League)
Wednesday, 14 October (20.45 CEST/live on DAZN): Romania v Austria (UEFA Nations League)

Lukas Hradecky (Finland):
Sonntag, 11 October (18.00 CEST/live on DAZN): Finland v Bulgaria (UEFA Nations League)
Wednesday, 14 October (18.00 CEST/live on DAZN): Finland v Ireland (UEFA Nations League)

Tin Jedvaj (Croatia):
Sunday, 11 October (18.00 CEST/live on DAZN): Croatia v Sweden (UEFA Nations League)
Wednesday, 14 October (20.45 CEST/live on DAZN): Croatia v France (UEFA Nations League)

Lucas Alario and Exequiel Palacios (Argentina):
Tuesday, 13 October (22.00 CEST: Bolivia v Argentina (World Cup qualifiers)

Charles Aránguiz (Chile):
Tuesday, 14 October (02.30 CEST): Chile v Colombia (World Cup qualifier)

Edmond Tapsoba (Burkina Faso):
Monday, 12 October: Burkina Faso v Madagascar (friendly)

Lennart Grill and Florian Wirtz (Germany U21):
Tuesday, 13 October (18.15 CEST/live on ProSieben MAXX): Germany U21 v Bosnia-Herzegovina U21 (U21 Euros qualifier)

Moussa Diaby (France U21):
Monday, 12 October (21.00 CEST): France U21 v Slovakia U21 (U21 Euros qualifier)


Related News

Bayer 04 - 08.12.2023

Küppersteg District Matchday: Nutrition workshop with Puerta and Wieder

Why is healthy eating important? What positive effects can it have on everyday life? And what does a competitive athlete actually eat? These questions and many more were the focus of the latest Bayer 04 event as part of the neighbourhood games days. With a visit to GGS Kerschensteinerschule, Bayer 04 professionals Gustavo Puerta and Verena Wieder kicked off the third campaign match day of this Bundesliga season against VfL Bochum, which will be centred around the Küppersteg district. The duo were supported by nutritionist Lena Kadlec, who organised a workshop with the pupils.

Show more
DFB-Pokal - 06.12.2023

Werkself through to DFB-Pokal quarter-finals with 3-1 win over Paderborn

Bayer 04 are through to the quarter-finals of the DFB-Pokal after a 3-1 win over Paderborn in the round of 16. Victor Boniface opened the scoring before Exequiel Palacios doubled up inside the first half hour. Sebastian Klaas got one back for the visitors on 82 minutes, but Patrik Schick restored the two-goal lead a few moments later as Leverkusen extended their unbeaten start to 2023/24 to 21 matches.

Show more
DFB-Pokal - 06.12.2023

Matchday news #B04SCP: Quarter-finals the goal

The Werkself host Paderborn in the DFB-Pokal round of 16 today, Wednesday 6 December (18:00 CET) at the BayArena. Here’s all the latest information ahead of the cup clash with the Bundesliga 2 club.

Show more
Bayer 04 - 06.12.2023

Vote for Grimaldo or Frimpong in Bundesliga’s Player of the Month!

The Bundesliga has announced its nominees for November’s Player of the Month, with two Werkself players up for the award in Alejandro Grimaldo and Jeremie Frimpong. Fans can now vote for who they want to win.

Show more